#thereisnohome

eyes

there is no home

there is no home

there is no home because my home was born in the womb of my body,

in the blood that trickles through my veins,

the tight black curls,

the blackness of my skin..

there is no home in a place that chooses silence instead of taking action

I slip through the cracks, day in and day out with the stomping of

soles by my so called community, school, peers..

 

there is no home,

there is no home in a place that constantly asks me to crumble myself into myself,

the black of my body,

the african of my tongue,

 

there is no home

there is no home when people sit in silence and watch

turning the volume off and watching bodies erase

 and we do nothing..

we do nothing..

 

there is no home when our concept of love is so narrow that bodies are being erased, murdered, in order to maintain this so called illusion of love,

there is no home when we uphold the poison that has seeped into our tongues making us unable to learn that a pair is not a division, rather a whole

 

there is no home when the concept of success is an illusion that kills and destroys immigrants communities

communities that have been sold a lie for a dream,

as they uprooted their lives and traditions for the American dream,

for  their bodies to be delivered into slavery, sex work, prison industries,

always being erased and buried

 

there is no home..

there is no home

when the world is tired and broken..

our brothers and sisters dying in our hands

our eyes the bearer of “news”

there is no home

 

there is no home..

where the world is tired and broken..

our brothers and sisters dying in our hands

our eyes the bearer of “news”

there is no home

Leave a Reply

