the american dream

Until death do us apart

we signed….

Our names written in  blood

I learned your language

The same that was used to shackle and to render them invisible in your plantations

I learned how to dress like you

The same fabric stitched with the collection of the windowless rooms and of the battered, aged fingers

I learned to walk like you,

And I felt the cold metal on my feet, the weight bounding me down to earth

I felt the sand in my wounds with every step I took, the dust resting in my throat, as I walked further away from the land that was and is mine

To seal it all, I touched your lips

To cover the screams of a mother as her child disappeared into the bottom of the sea, long gone

Of the children marked by progress, by the dream, for the dream

I signed it without knowing..

Until death do us apart

Leave a Reply

