I see you

 To the women who reached out and got burned

I see you

To the women who desired to be loved and  got dusted aside

I see you

To the women who took it all in

And never said a word

And swallowed the bullet of pain whole

And found peace  at the bottom of  the bottle

I see you

To the women who desired

Who longed to be free from their suffocating bodies

To be wild like the waves

I see you

To the women who closed their eyes

Tightly

And refused to open them

And let the tears gush from

their papermache hearts

To the women  who yearned to be themselves

To one day look in the mirror

And reflect a size zero, the bones dissolved

The fat evaporated and the hair a glorious mane

I see you

But I also see

The hope that is kindled in your eyes

You burn as bright as the star

Your mind contains magic

To YOU I say,

This box is too small to contain your being

Your love

Your thoughts

Your laughter

Your soul

Your womanhood

Now it is up to you be

Your own woman

And to see what I see

In you

Leave a Reply

