femme noire femme africaine

With every breath you inspire me,

You inspire me femme noire, femme Africaine

I wake up to your humming in my hands and I take a sip

I wake up in your embrace

my legs an extension of you

I wake up to your smile, you soothe me

You inspire me femme noire, femme Africaine

You inspire me

I wake up to you sitting at the tip of my tongue, swinging and waiting,

waiting to be noticed

I wake up to you trailing your hands like feather down my back,

marking and marking,

so I don’t forget

But I did,

I have forgotten you,

you have forgotten me,

 

Femme noire femme Africaine

you roll off the tip of my tongue,

You roll off the tip of my tongue,

and you stand on my heart,

and you count the many time, I say “aye”

Femme noire, femme Africaine you inspire me,

Because you are the whisper that says run, don’t think,

and I listen

Because you are the ink on the pages,

you are the ink that flows in my blood.

And because you are, I am

My femme noire, femme Africaine

Leave a Reply

